Home > Roam >

West Indies Map

The Caribbean Basin contains a string of intensely unique islands, cultures and ecosystems, known collectively as The West Indies.
Updated September 10, 2019

Map of the West Indies, painted with copic markers and watercolors.

The West Indies is three distinct regions. To the north is the Lucayan Archipelago, which consists of hundreds of islands; The Bahamas and Turk & Caicos. The Greater Antilles - the large, central islands of Cuba, Jamaica, Hispaniola, the Caymans and Puerto Rico - forms the beginning of a long chain of islands.

The next island chain - the Lesser Antilles - is a long volcanic arc of numerous small countries and territories.

I used Copic markers and watercolors to create this map of the West Indies.